MLK Memorial postponed… until September or October.

As I got ready to go to sleep I think about how my weekend could have turned out.  Then I had a moment where I gave thanks for the little and big things that make me smile.  I am so glad to have life and health.

Yesterday the official dedication ceremony for the King memorial was scheduled to occur.  However, the potential damage and flights that could have been effected by hurricane Irene were reason enough to postpone the events.  On Sunday morning, I would have stopped my alarm clock around 6 a.m. to get ready to go to the mall in Washington, D.C.   My father and I planned to attend the ceremony together.  We would have arrived there no later that 8 am and I would have had my parasol, hand fan and camera. READY!  I just knew I was going to make it and witness an awesome service.  On Friday,  I was notified that my flights were cancelled.  I was a bit disappointed but decided I would change my departure and arrivals.  Then my aunt who lives in Washington, D.C. sent a text stating that the service was cancelled.  But I didn’t believe it because I was too excited to go.  So I prepared myself to start packing.  Shortly after, my father called about the weather alerts and his concerns about me traveling.  I started to look up articles and as soon as I saw “postponed” my heart dropped.  I was devastated. Only because I worked myself up for months about going to D.C. to witness the dedication.  This project had been in the works for the last 15 years I was told and it was ready for the world to see.  President Barack Obama and Aretha Franklin were going to be there.  How could the official dedication be postponed? I took a moment to digest the new information.

I got over the disappointment and am happy I stayed away from the north.  Had I gone I probably would have been stuck there for a few days or had a miserable time with the power outages and fast winds.  I know that this happened the way it was supposed to and now that the monument is open to the public I can go visit whenever I choose.  I can’t wait to make that trip.

About ajahweh

A woman truly guided by my thirst for knowledge and global culture. Lover of the arts. Passionate about music and finds joy in teaching children. I prefer to dance through my journey in life.

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Community. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m in DC now and got a chance to check out the Memorial last weekend. It’s really nice. When you see it, it feels right. Very impressive in person. Words won’t capture and neither will pictures. You have to see it in person to fully appreciate it.

    • Good News!!!!! I just got word that the ceremony is rescheduled for Sunday, October 16th. I do intend to be there. Thanks for sharing your experience. I can’t wait to see it for myself. I’m sure it will be all I imagine and more. When I find out the program, special guests etc. I’ll be sure to post that information.

  2. Hey, Do you know when it was rescheduled for? I’m headed to DC this weekend and was hoping the stars just might align.

    • I haven’t heard any updates yet. But check the blog and I’ll be sure to keep you posted!!! That ceremony will be something we don’t need to miss!

Leave a Reply

