Netflix Fix… When We Were Kings

I LOVE Netflix. I’m not really a cable TV girl unless Breakout Kings or The Game is on.  More often than not I tend to fall asleep in movie theaters.  So I appreciate being in the comfort of my own home with the ability to rewind if need be.  I love watching old favorites, documentaries and musicals.  And this is why I love Netflix.  I was looking through new arrivals and found an old favorite of mine.  I think I see a favorite. I select the movie to make sure I’m not seeing things. My face lights up! EXCITED!  When We Were Kings!!!  A documentary about a fight in Kinshasa, Zaire in 1974 between Muhammad Ali and George Foreman. The fight was also called The Rumble in the Jungle.  This documentary is great because of the content and the memories of where I was in my life when I first saw it.  I spent summers with my family in Harlem after we relocated to Florida and I would watch this movie with my brothers and my cousin Kute. I was usually the only girl watching.  My little sister was not interested at all.  I really can’t blame her, we were watching a movie about a three time Heavy Weight World Champion.  She was more interested in tea parties and jump rope at the time.  Kute was a clown and always has been.  He would get up and imitate sayings and movements throughout the movie.  Since I was watching this on Netflix I could pause or rewind when needed since I didn’t have the Blue-ray/DVD.  This made my day!

I may catch a Pacquiao fight every now and then but I am by no means a huge boxing fan.  I just enjoyed the story, musical performances and commentary included in When We Were Kings.  Ali was on a mission to prove to the world that he was the greatest of all times, once again.  He also spoke about African unity and appreciation for the African culture from an African American perspective throughout the documentary.  In the beginning of the film he stated that his plane ride was the first time he had ever seen an all black crew… pilots and all.  The expression on his face was priceless.  He believed in the greatness within us.  And spread this message every where.  Check out the film.  It is a must for anyone who enjoys a great storyline about competition and triumph.

The documentary doesn’t show much from the concert held in Zaire, so here is some footage of President Mobutu, Muhammad Ali, George Foreman and performances by B.B. King, James Brown, and Miriam Makeba.

About ajahweh

A woman truly guided by my thirst for knowledge and global culture. Lover of the arts. Passionate about music and finds joy in teaching children. I prefer to dance through my journey in life.

Posted on June 5, 2011, in Conscious and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

